Elementary questions

Hi,

As I am a complete novice in DAW the questions below may seem really elementary and I need to spend time reading the User’s Manual, but I would appreciate common-sense advice.

My application is very simple right now (using Cubase 7 AI and UR22):
MIC → Line input 1 UR22 using balanced XLR (mono audio) ->lap-top->L/1 output (mono) UR22 ->Jensen Audio Isolator ->mic input of a shortwave transmitter → DAW processed audio on the air (shortwave radio)

Terminology is still somewhat confusing to me and I am not sure I understand where I can add an EQ, Compressor etc. or can I add an EQ/Compressors etc. in several places actually?

1. Where do I add EQ, Compressor, LIMITER etc? The STRIP or INSERTS? Does the Free version feature Tube/Vintage Compressors that I can add?

2. I assume that where it says “INSERTS” I will define the INSERTS (EQ, Compressor etc.) used but the order in which they are to be used in the audio chain can be changed only in CHANNEL STRIP? This is also where I would activate/bypass any of these, correct?

3. There is a separate place which says “EQUALIZERS” that is confusing to me. Why would one need this defined in a separate place?

4. Can I add more than one EQ and Compressor for instance?

5. PLUG-INS: I assume this is what I would use later after I have mastered the basics although I am not sure if these are useful (unless I need to put a Vintage/Tube Compressor here…) in my application?

Thank you for pointers for this tyro!

Cheers,
JJ

OK, here goes (quickly and roughly!)

1: Put them wherever you like; I would put them as inserts on the channel your audio is on. The “strip” is just a pre-selected group of effects which are inserted on the channel in question, whereas “true” inserts allow you to use third-party effects.

2: No, the order of the inserts is as per the inserts section. Altering the strip section alters their order. THat is where you would bypass/activate them, yes.