Elements 6 - Halion se - midi won't play - midi virgin

I’m an audio guy and guitarist/bassist/singer and I have NEVER worked with MIDI in any software…I’ve ALWAYS been in analogue…

HOWEVER, I need to extract a midi drum part for a particular song and export it to my new Beat Buddy.

I’ve been able to play and HEAR the .mid file using windows media player.

I’ve been able to import the midi file to Cubase Elements 6. I can hit play and see the meters move but THERE IS NO SOUND… The outputs for each instrument are outputting to the Halion SE device…

There are NO “midi devices installed” in Cubase and I haven’t got a clue which one to pick…Halion SE ain’t on the list…

I have NO idea what to do next and the manual is no help – I’m NOT a MIDI guy and obviously don’t grok the vocabulary…

HELP!?!?!

Can anyone help me with a step by step explanation of how to get MIDI to Play…

Here’s a screenshot of the midi file in Cubase:
http://chetgardiner.com/MidiInCubase.jpg

WILL SOMEONE HELP ME!!!

MIDI PLAYS IN WINDOWS MEDIA PLAYER. METERS MOVE IN CUBASE WHEN PLAYING…

BUT NO SOUND FROM MY SPEAKERS…

WHAT PART OF SETTING UP CUBASE TO PLAY MIDI AM I MISSING???

THE MANUAL IS HOPELESS. THERE’S NO STEP BY STEP INSTRUCTIONS IN THE “KNOWLEDGE BASE”…

I FEEL QUITE STRANDED AND IGNORED!!!

:frowning: :frowning: :frowning: :frowning:

Ok… You said you imported a midi file into Cubase. So now you are seeing it (I hope) on a midi or instrument track but can’t hear it. The midi file itself does not contain “sounds”. You need to assign what sound you want the midi to play.

Apparently you do have an audio interface set up with Cubase so most likely the problem is that you need to assign the vst instrument (Halion Sonic) to the midi (or instrument) track that the midi file is on AND choose a sound from the list of sounds available in Halion. Also, you need to make sure you activate Halion. These assignments and settings are accomplished in the inspector section.