Elements 7 disaterous start

OK, newbie here.

This morning my installation of Sequel LE worked just fine, thank you very much. At lunchtime I installed Elements 7 64 bit, followed by 32 bit in the hope that things might improve, with the following results:

1. No output of any kind from either Sequel or Elements
  2. The monitor in Elements shows that there is midi activity (and Windows says the driver is fine) when I press the keys on my midi keyboard, but I cannot get Elements to make a sound.
  3. Windows says that my Zoom ASIO driver is working, but I cannot get any input into Elements (or Sequel since I installed Elements.
  4. within Elements the only options for input and output are ‘no connection’ The onboard soundcard does not appear in the available devices list and although the Zoom ASIO driver does it is not possible to select it.

I have been through the basic setup instructions but simply cannot get any response out of any of my Steinberg installations are all.

Has anyone got the faintest idea what I am supposed to do now?

I have no clue how this looks in Element 7. But it sounds like you’ve simply not chosen the correct interface driver.

It looks like this in Cubase 7, device menu, ‘configure devices’:

In my picture it says ‘ASIO Fireface’ - try what options you’ve get in that field. I think ‘ASIO Direct X Full Duplex Driver’ or ‘Generic Low Latency ASIO Driver’ should make your onboard soundcard usable/inputs + outputs assignable in VST connections.

If you don’t have any specific audio interface, you should download and install the asio4all driver in order to use onboard soundcard with Cubase.

Of course you should think about purchasing a specific audio interface.

Thanks for taking the time to offer suggestions.

@marQs - that’s the same menu as in Elements, thanks, but there are no ASIO driver options - just the Generic Low Latency that comes with Cubase.