Enharmonic spellings between Concert and Transposed Scores

Newbie here!

I am told that by “default,” making enharmonic changes (spelling) to notes in score layouts also affects their spelling in all other layouts, but respelling notes in part layouts only affects their spelling in the current part layout. This is good.

However, as a concert composer for schools, I have requirements to deliver both Concert Key scores and Transposed scores. I’m running into an issue, and I’m hoping I can get educated!

For instruments like Bb Clarinet and Eb Alto Saxophone, it’s not unusual for their keys in their transposed key to be in sharps and in the concert key in flats. For example, Eb Alto Saxophone in the transposed key of G (one sharp) should show sharp accidentals in the instrument part and the transposed score layouts. However, when going to the Concert score layout (in Bb), changing an accidental like C# to Db also changes the transposed score and instrument part from A# to Gb (in the transposed key of G).

I’m left with no choice but deliver a Concert score with sharp accidentals in flat keys (and vice versa), UNLESS… :nerd_face: someone could share a feature/option that would allow for enharmonic spellings to be independent between score layouts.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Welcome to the forum @David_Hyde – a fairly quick and relatively easy solution could be to use an extra part layout to which you assign all players, and apply the Default Full Score page template set. I.e. to make the layout look and smell like a score, but be categorized internally as a part.

There would be other options you’d need to amend for it to look like other scores, including changing the appearance of staff labels and perhaps multi-bar rest consolidation, for example.

Thank you, @Lillie_Harris. Would it be possible to accomplish the same using a custom score layout?