Eq-ing Help

Hi

Quick description of my setup:
I have cubase 5, i7 processor, 9GB ram.

I am recording an album. In a few songs i think the mix sounds muddy. I’m not very experienced at eq-ing/mixing. Amateur in fact.
Anyway, i came across this article:

I think if i were to separate the various instruments eq wise this would really help my songs. This article is great. It tells you what to do, but i need more info on HOW. That why i came to this forum for help doing it in cubase. (people who use the same tools can advise me)

In that article the 3rd image down, (it shows all the instruments sitting together their main frequencies not colliding)
Can someone help me to achieve this with cubase.

Someone tell me what tools in cubase to use to manipulate/analyse, how to use them etc.

For example, is there some sort of meter in cubase you can run vocals through and you can judge what frequencies the main bulk of the vocal sits at?
Wheni go to eq the vocals, In that diagram, the vocals, (looks like a yellow pyramid) should my eq diagram look like a pyramid? How do i achieve this exactly?

If anyone can help or point me in the right direction i would be very grateful.
I think this is the last hurdle i need to overcome to get the sound i’m looking for.

Regards

Conor

There are several options for monitoring frequency domains for tracks. Cubase has its own multiscope which you can insert in an fx slot on a track. You can also download Bluecat’s frequency analyser which works much the same way. This is a free plugin. Voxengo span is another option, also free. Note that these draw the graph for 1 track (mono or stereo), not for all the tracks simultaneously in different colours. I know bluecats frequency analyser has a transparancy option so you can insert it in multiple tracks and then put all the windows on top of eachother to draw the graphs for several tracks in the same window.