Etude for Flute and Piano

I’m not sure if any of you know (let alone care) that my background is actually in legit music… here’s something I wrote earlier this year. It’s not recorded in Cubase – this was at a studio and it was (of course) Pro Tools. The piano was a Steinway, and the flautist is a friend of mine from college who is a working professional. This was actually two takes which were spliced together

http://soundclick.com/share.cfm?id=13153297

Oh, and I couldn’t come up with anything better of a name for it :laughing:

Well, somebody say SOMETHING… don’t be afraid to say “it really sucks…” :laughing:

Clever and accomplished musicianship but a bit on the Avant- Garde side for me, :confused:

can’t knock this level of musicianship though… :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

Kevin

I assume you… OOPS Let me first tell you how much I love this recording and the thoughtful interaction between piano and flute. This is gorgeous!!!

Now back to assumption, You are calling this classical because it is written out and not improved? To me this is ECM style of Jazz and very worldly. It reminds of the stuff John Taylor and Tony Coe did with Norma Winstone.

I have to hear more like this from you Doug, and get a name for this as it is far from being an etude :smiley:
Kenny

Excellent. Chops and a half. :wink:

Some strange artifacts around 00:55 - 1:00 and again at around 1:18 - 1:20.
Like pedal thumps but they are distorted piano notes on the MP3?

I thought the flute could come down in level.

The file has a sudden-death cut off too.

Fascinating stuff. I am a lapsed flautist so know enough to understand the techniques involved.