EW Symphonics Choir in Dorico

Hi. I am new to Dorico, and I am testing the Elements version to see if it is worth the money outlay. I would like to know if the Wordbulider of the vst EW Symphonics Choir runs in this version. I’m trying and I can’t, I don’t know if it’s only possible in the Pro version, or also in the Elements version. In case it is possible, I would appreciate some indications. Thank you

If it works in Pro then it should also do in Elements. Have you whitelisted the EW plug-in? If not, go to Edit > Preferences and then to the VST-Plug-ins tab. First make sure that the search paths point also to the directory where the EW plug-in is (and restart if it was not). Does it then appear in the list of Blocked Plug-ins? Move it over to the list of Allowed PLug-ins, close and restart Dorico.

It depends on what’s not working. Ulf is suggesting what to do if the plug-in is not working but my interpretation is that this is OK but that just Wordbuilder is not working properly.

If the latter then there was a thread just around ten days ago which you can read here Eastwest Choirs/Wordbuilder - #36 by dko22 - Dorico - Steinberg Forums. This followed a shorter one in May. Basically it does work if you use v5 of PLAY. It will not work with v6. But even then there are some complications and I tried to make clear clear what I do in this recent thread. It might be best if you ask any further questions there to avoid duplication as it’s not the easiest combination in the world although I find better results in terms of tempo changes than I had in Sibelius.

On the other hand, if you test it out in Elements and Pro and find it works only in Pro – unlikely I would have thought – then Ulf’s your man!

Yes, WordBuilder doesn’t work. It flags up alerts about ‘internal errors’, and the sound is just all wrong. I’ve been talking to EW about it, and they are looking at it.