Explaining Voices...

Hi all
I teach classical guitar, and until now I’ve been using Cubase to typeset music in 2 voices (tune and bass) or sometimes more than two. The mapping from voice to stem direction to Midi channel was easy and intuitive.

However… I’m struggling to understand the difference in Dorico between

a) “Up-stem Voice 1 and Down-stem Voice 2” (which is what I thought I should be using)

and

b) “Up-stem Voice 1 and Down-stem Voice 1” (which looks identical).

Is there any difference? Does one offer advantages over the other - which and why?

When writing in 3 voices should I use two stem directions on voice 1 and use voice 2 for the middle voice, or 3 different voices?

As I’m still learning Dorico, I want to make sure that I work the “best” way, rather than trying make Dorico work the way I used to work!

The documentation seems to shed no light, so I’m hoping an expert will point me in the right direction :smiley:

Dorico numbers the voices in each stem direction. So you could have a staff with 3 up-stem voices, numbered 1 to 3. Or, you could have a staff with 2 down-stem voices, numbered 1 to 2. Or a staff with all of those together: in which case they would keep their numbering and not be 1 to 5.

Down-stem Voice 2 suggests you’ve also got a down-stem voice 1 somewhere. I think Dorico’s voices are only created when used: if you press Shift V to create 6 more voices, but don’t enter notes into them, then they won’t exist when you leave Note Entry.

Of course, you can flip the stems of a given voice, if you want to confuse matters! For a 3-voice staff, you’ll need to have a middle voice, in either direction, which you flip as required.

This boy will go far! :slight_smile:

Dorico uses one set of numbers for Up-stem voices and another set of numbers for Down-stem voices. Up-stem Voice 1 is an entirely separate voice from Down-stem Voice 1.