expression map different midi channels help

I am a newbie to cubase 8.5 and am wanting to use expression maps to change midi channels to have 3 midi Chanel articulations on the same track . for a basic example 1 Kontact with 3 articulations on midi 1 to 3.

I have set up 3 key switches c0 to d0 in the remote and the output mapping to Note on C0 etc data2 120 and changed the channel for each key switch 1-3
I have got it all working so that when I click on the key switch the relevant midi Chanel is activated and I can play the different midi instruments . The problem is when I record and play back, the midi Channel info is not recorded so everything plays back on midi 1 . I have the Kontakt instrument set to any midi Channel . I have also tried changing the midi channel of the notes in the event list manually after recording to different midi channels but it still only plays back on midi channel 1 unless I remove the expression map .

What am I doing wrong ?

Hi,

Make sure, the MIDI Channel of the track is set to Any in Cubase. Once you set the MIDI Channel to any specific one, the MIDI data are sent on this specific MIDI Channel.

I have set it to any but it doesnt make any difference

Even if you set the MIDI Channel of the MIDI Note by hard?

yes , if I change a midi note in the event list to channel 2 it still plays only midi channel 1 unless I disable expression maps and then it plays the other midi chanels . There must be a global setting somewhere ?

I see, so the Expression Maps is the master, isn’t it? We discussed it in other thread. But in this case, you should be able to change the MIDI Channel via the Expression Maps.

yes I can change the midi channel through the expression map , when I hit the keyswitch the channel changes but cubase doesnt record the channel change

How should Cubase “record” it? The MIDI Channel changes on the output side only.