Expression maps not workly correctly during normal playback

I’m new to Dorico and trying to write for the first time in the software this week. I have Spitfire’s BBCSO Pro library so I installed the Expression Map that Dorico provides for that library.

I’m having an unexpected behavior that seems like a bug but I’m trying to understand if I’m just using it incorrectly. Here is an example of what I’m seeing:

• I have a bar that has 4 quarter notes marked with staccato.
  • If I click on them to select them, it sounds with the proper staccato articulation. I can also see that by having the VST window open to that instrument, it switches to the staccato articulation. If I click on a long note, it switches to Long and plays that correctly as well.
  • However, if I hit the play button in Write or Play mode, it just plays everything as a Long articulation, never switching to staccato.
  • If I use Shift+P and write in Spicc or Pizz above the bar, it plays those correctly during playback, but it seems like it’s ignoring individual notes style during playback.

Am I missing something about how this is supposed to work? What can I do to get it to playback properly?

Edit: In playing around further with the Expression maps, I’m finding that if I edit the “Natural” key switch to the same one as is set for Staccato, then instead of sounding long notes, it plays staccato. So said differently: It seems that Dorico is playing the “Natural” setting for everyone even when notes are marked with staccato dots in the score. The expression map has a key switch defined for Staccato but it seems that it’s being ignored?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Attaching a sample project file and an export audio. If you listen to the audio you can hear that the spicatto marking in measure 2 has no impact on the playback. However the pizz and spicc markings in the last 2 measures do.

Testing Articulation Issue.dorico (605.5 KB)