Expression maps - some expressions work, others don't

Greetings,

I’m brand new to Dorico - been waiting for issues to be resolved, and it looks like they have been. Have been doing the crash course these past few days and I really like what I see - I’m a 25-year Finale user, and seriously considering moving over full-time.

I am having a few early issues. I like the very clear setup for expression maps. I’ve set up a simple one to work with a very simple VSL clarinet matrix I’ve constructed (I will mostly be working with 3rd party samples, and Dorico’s functionality here is a big draw for me).

I’ve set up an expression map to correspond with 8 different key switches on my clarinet matrix, including legato, natural, staccato, trill (half and whole), flutter tongue, sfz, and fp.

When I test it out, I see that the playback moves easily between legato, natural and staccato. It also will do flutter tongue. But it will not play the trills, the sfz, or the fp, even though I am certain that the parameters I’ve entered into the expression map are correct, and the expression map is definitely assigned to the instrument.

I’ve read that an earlier version of Dorico didn’t implement trill play back, but I assume this should work now if it’s just an issue of a key switch to a sampled trill?

Thanks for any input - I’ve looked over the forum to find this answer, but haven’t seen it yet, and I know 2.0 is very young!

That’s normal for the time being. Some of them, despite being listed in the available expressions, still aren’t “hooked up” and won’t trigger, most noticeably dynamics (as techniques) and ornaments, as you’ve come across.

I’m only guessing, but I think the developers are aiming for native ornament support, rather than relying on key switches. If that’s all you need, it’s fairly easy to do it with a custom playing technique. There’s a recent thread by Mats Hålling in the FB group, where you can find a few guidelines on this subject.