[FEAT REQ] GPU acceleration

I’m not sure what’s up, but it seems even C7 is not utilizing GPU. The C7 mixer is sluggish like the H4 interface. They seem to be designed in the same “visual” style, so is the video performance problem the same?

Anyhow, please work on interface performance please.

110% agreed. I know Fabfilter has gone this route recently and it has made a big difference. When youhave lots of windows open with movement, especially the mixer, it all comes to a grinding halt, even on very capable systems. Nearly impossible to get accurate measurements with the meters when they look like they are fighting against molasses. GPU acceleration would certainly help this out immensely as any gpu from years gone by is capable of rendering these graphics with ease, freeing up the CPU for everything else.

I’m a dev, but I don’t do audio (although I have messed with the ASIO and VST SDKS, I’m not even remotely competent in the audio domain), but it leads me to wonder if there is an issue with audio streaming that makes using the GPU problematic. I’ve used several audio apps that have come out recently that have this same issue. And it is clear they aren’t using the GPU. So either A) there is an inherent problem using video acceleration while streaming audio B) we are being killed by the portable iWorld where apps have to run on 4" displays that don’t have GPU’s C) They are feverishly working on integrating good video performance into the app. I hope for C :mrgreen:

+1

If Steinberg doesn’t implement this soon, I’m going to jump ship to BitWig when it comes out. I love Cubase and HALion, but this is truly a dealbreaker for me. I don’t understand why Ableton can run the same amount of plugins without any lag in UI rendering, but Cubase can’t?

1 Like