Feature Request: options affect current note instead of next note

I couldn’t really figure out what terms to search for, so my apologies if there is already a thread out there for this…

I have been following Dorico with a lot of interest, as a user of Sibelius… but most of my work is just lead sheets, so I was very excited to try out the free version of Dorico, which has the requisite feature set for that. I think it’s a good move. Next time I have to do a scoring project, if I’m fluid in using Dorico, I’ll probably end up springing for the full program.

For the past few years I have been doing my lead sheets in Noteflight, and I really like the way it handles note entry. Settings such as the note length and accidentals affect the most recently entered note, rather than having to be preset before entering a note name. I find it really fast and intuitive. As a musician, I think of the note first, and then how long it will last. Because as a musician, you start the note before you end it! And since I spell a note C sharp, not sharp C, it feels natural to type them in that order. I note that ties seem to work this way already in Dorico, which is nice. (I realize composers have to commit to a note length when they first draw it, and accidentals are laid out before a note, so I understand the thinking…)

By contrast, in noteflight, I enter the note C, decide it should be sharp, because it’s not in the key signature, and then make it a quarter note, and then dot it… and then change my mind and realize it should actually be a half note… Then I enter the next note. And all my changes show up there right in the text as I am entering it. I never need to look away from the staff to do normal note entry. It’s incredibly fast and fluid.