Filling gaps between events

Hi there,

we do a lot of audiobook work. There are hundreds of edits and uncountable gaps between edits which I want to fill with the room tone of the recorded studio. Is there a possibility to automate this?

Carsten

Huh, I don’t know of any way but I’m quite new in Nuendo-land. This would really be a great thing. If you have enough room tone, then just have some macro that fills in all the gaps with this long room tone event and trim it to the correct length. That would be great. Let’s see if anyone else knows something about this.

I do tons of audiobook work. I don’t know about automating room tone replacement after the fact, but it seems like something the logical editors might be able to do…if you can trust the cuts and transitions, replacement-wise (I wouldn’t). I’ve long wished for a range-like tool that could paste a dedicated sample of RT. But we don’t have that.

I edit with room tone, using a range-tool based macro I got here either from Fredo or the long-missed Kid Dropper. The workflow:

1. Assign macro (below) to a convenient key. I have mine assigned to the click wheel on my mouse.

2. get a good 20 or 30 second chunk of room tone and put it on a track. “Fill to Loop” your roomtone to extend to the length of your longest chapter. Make sure there’s no click between the adjacent clips.

3. Edit with the range tool in shuffle mode, replacing RT as necessary, using the macro (it deletes the range you’ve selected and replaces it with the RT from the track below-- make sure that track is directly adjacent).

The macro (Insert Room Tone):

Edit - Snap Type: Grid
Navigate - Down
Edit - Copy
Navigate - Up
Edit - Delete
Edit - Paste
Edit - Snap Type: Shuffle

Works for me… good luck!

Chewy
Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 7.25.11 AM.png

Here’s how it looks in the Arrange Window.

Chewy

Izotop RX5 advance is your friend.

after creating a very long room tone event, place it on top of your Voice track and remove duplicates.