Film score arranger: Considering buying, but need help

Hello everyone!

I’ve never used Nuendo before. I’ve actually been using Cakewalk’s Sonar since version 1. I’ve been getting film score work lately and frankly, Cakewalk currently sucks at this for a few reasons. I noticed that Nuendo 10 seems to be MAJORLY focused on film and game aspects of DAWs and wanted to run this buy all the experts here.

I’m sure Nuendo excels as a DAW and I’m not worried about all the normal things a DAW should be able to do. I’m sure Nuendo does it. What I need to confirm is if Nuendo “arranger” has the ability to lock arrangement scenes / sections to absolute time (think for film reference - 00:00:20:01 for example) and that each arrangement scene has it’s own tempo / bpm that the start and ending points can be moved around (again based on absolute, not musical time) and NOT affect the other arrangement scenes / sections.

I have more specific details in a post I made for a feature request on the Cakewalk forums here: Feature: Film Score Arranger - Feedback Loop - Cakewalk Discuss | The Official Cakewalk by BandLab Forum

If Nuendo 10 can handle this fairly straight forward workflow, I’d probably buy it tomorrow and start learning it.

Also, how is Nuendo support? I tried to find a sales contact number to ask them directly and couldn’t find one, which is not the best taste in my mouth right off the bat. I’m hoping I just missed it and it’s obvious on the website.

Thanks! I VERY much appreciate guidance here.

Cheers,

Josh

No there is no non-linear timeline in Nuendo. You can only lock individual events to time. The only program that kind of does this on a larger scale is Digital Performer with its Chunks feature, and even then the implementation is not ideal at all, because you have to use the special V-Racks to share instruments etc.