(Film Scoring Question) Finding the Real Length of My Cue

Hi there,
So i’m fairly new to Cubase, but I have gotten acquainted pretty well with it over the last few weeks.
I’m scoring a feature-length film in Cubase, and after having set up all my various cues, and setting them up to share a common Video File (and a common Cache)… I’m having this issue:

After setting up cues (projects) to at various different timecodes (other than 0:00:00:00), i realized that while everything was in sync, and working correctly, I could not view the exact length, in minutes and seconds, of each Cue (project) i had open.

Instead of giving me the absolute length of the cue from bar 1 to wherever I was in the my sequence, it would display the absolute time from the start of the whole movie clip up till then. So for example, in my second cue, the time it displays at Bar 1 already has 2 minutes (of real time) elapsed.

Once again, everything else works like a charm, and smpte lines up perfectly for each cue, i have the correct offset, etc.

Am I missing something? like is there a way to make it display an absolute length, in mins and secs, while maintaining smpte lock, etc etc?

Thanks. I know for one that other DAWs can do this. So any help would be appreciated! :slight_smile:

Hello JonOngMusic,

Did you tried the “Ruler Track” in Cubase ? You can insert several ruler tracks in a project with different setups.

Cheers,

Chris

Hi Chris,
Thanks for the reply.
Yes i tried that, but I’m afraid that’s not exactly what I meant.
Please take a look at the attachment below:
As you can see, I am at bar/measure 1 of my sequence. Timecode is set to picture at Bar 1 at 1:02:04:19 (on the transport),
and i added the Ruler as you suggested, which displays Minutes and Seconds so that you can see what I mean.

As you can see, at Bar 1, the Ruler/Minutes and Seconds reads: 1:02:08:516.

Im guessing it is affected by the timecode offset at the beginning of the sequence.