Film scoring with Cubase

Hello everyone,
I am a new user here. I’m a composer who has always worked with “real” musicians in live performances. Cubase 5 is installed on my pc and I’m studying its features because I may begin to deal with film scoring. Now, I have some questions for you professional users:

1. What are the cues precisely?

2. What comes first? The full score or the digital project? If I started to compose a soundtrack, I would first write the score for the orchestra with Finale and then import a midi file into cubase and work with it (if I did not have a real orchestra, I mean). But I have read that the score is made later and I’m wondering how that is possible.

3. I’ve seen that film composers often record the different sections of the orchestra separately (strings, brass, percussion etc). Why do they do that? Is it because they have to modify each section’s audio track separately without affecting the other insturments? If so, what kind of manipulation are applied to these audio tracks?

4. I’ve also read that a film soundtrack’s project often deals with hundreds of midi tracks. What are they for? Are they particular effects? If so, how to notate them in the score?

5. Cubase is one of the most used software for composing: do you know if in medium-low budget productions the soundtracks are made just with vst plugins (such as East west or Halion one)? And (since I would be part of these medium-low budget prductions!) do you recommend me to work with midi tracks or with audio tracks? Just consider that Finale allows me to export midi file (or even xml)