Finale User Starting in Dorico

Hi! I’m Sean, and have been a Finale User for approx. 15 years?

I’m having huge difficulty with note input in Dorico. Some of it seems very confusing to me, which might just be due to being used to Finale. I’m not very good at learning new programs, so some of this might just be me being stupid. Here’s the main things I’m having issues with:

• I have a bar that starts with a rests in 3/4. It’s a quarter rest, then an eighth rest. I’m in the note input mode, press comma, then y to input the rest. It doesn’t show the rest, but moves the carat over. Is there anyway to make it show the rest I input? I’m just a pretty visual person and it throws me off that I can’t see it.

• Is there any other way to input notes other than using the note names or a midi keyboard? I’m getting frustrated with them not appearing in the right octave and then having to adjust the note position; it’s slowing me down considerably. (maybe I’m just doing something wrong?) This might just be due being used to adjusting notes and their positions on the staff before or after inputting them via the up and down keys, in combination with shortcuts like shift+up/down arrow for an octave. I have a feeling like this might just be something I have to get used to, but my hands just feel clunky.

• Is there any way to rebind any of the shortcuts? One of the (perhaps few)things in Finale I loved was being able to rebind almost all the shortcuts for all the different tools and switching between them. I used to play StarCraft a lot, and to issue commands in it you would use key-bound shortcuts. A lot of them are kind of ingrained in muscle memory, so in finale I did a little of rebinding them to things like that; or just stuff that was easier for me to remember like programming my custom lines/shapes to things “A for big Arrow” and “T for Tiny Arrow”.