First drum kit transcription: feedback for Dorico team

So, I just finished my first week of evaluating Dorico. I’m a drummer and drum teacher, and I’d been keenly waiting for the percussion support to arrive before trying it out. I’ve actually been following the development of Dorico on Daniel’s Making Notes blog from way before your first release. My first project was a transcription of a drum kit part, attached at the end of this post.

Overall User Experience

In a word: incredible! For my day job I work at a high-end digital design agency in Paris, and I have lots of years experience in UI/UX design. You guys killed it. This is one of the most beautifully designed pieces of software I’ve ever seen. It was incredibly intuitive to use, and I found myself being productive within just a few minutes of first starting Dorico, and after about an hour I was working faster than I ever have been able to in Sibelius. That said, I did notice a couple of little things, which I’ll get to below.

Documentation

• The YouTube channel is fantastic. Ever since I downloaded Dorico I’ve watched a couple of videos every day and they are by far the best way to learn.
  • The online documentation is clear and well-organised. I think it could benefit from more screen grabs and illustrations — pictures paint a thousand words and all that.

Insert Mode