Foley levels and Loudness track question

Hi everyone,

i hope it is ok to post non Nuendo-specific questions here ?
As i’m not too experienced in film mixing, i would be happy about some advice on handling levels for foley. My problem is that i’m always falling into the trap of reducing the levels too much, both for clips and in the mixer (most of my library sounds require that), that i end up with too low and/or inhomogeneous volumes in the mix (i.e. a big mess of different clip normalizations, clip levels and automation :confused: ) .
What is your approach of working with them regarding levels ? Is there some kind of approved level to normailze foley to (and/or LUFS target level ?) - do you use clip volume at all ?
To make it at least a bit Nuendo specific - i’m new to the Loudness track as well - is there a way to change it’s colour ? My eyes are probably too old for that blue :stuck_out_tongue:
Thanks in advance !

Well I mix foley as I mix anything else.
I never normalise anything, ever.

I realise most new to film sound may not have the financial resources to use a actual foley artist.
If you can’t have that the person creating and editing foley needs to think like a foley artist.
Think flow and sound in relation to the picture.

I use clip levels, faders, group fader, eq, reverbs and delays when I mix foley. The best foley artists really “mould” the foley in relation to what the shot needs, and they do it intuitively using the room, position and proximity to the mic and how they perform to assist the illusion of movement and distance.

Doing this with samples is not easy, you really have to work hard in foley editing and if left to the mix, you will need a lot of time to do a decent foley premix.
Make sure to use levels and Basic eq as a part of the workflow when creating and editing or the mix will be super slow.

No film mixer I know of uses loudness or meters to deal with foley mixing. Foley is mixed in relation to dialog. That is it.