Force Duration as standard practice

I’m sure someone will have asked this before, so apologies in advance for any duplication, but the reason I’m starting a new topic is that I can’t get results for a phrase such as “forced duration” (or indeed “input rests”, “tempo markings” etc.) - the results come up for the individual words. What’s the correct way of inputting my search terms?

My specific question (I’m a beginner, with Sibelius experience) is this: after many false starts based on my misunderstanding of how Dorico works, I found that having ‘Force Duration’ selected permanently makes inputting much easier for me - for example when starting a bar with a rest (having Force Duration selected means that the rest, rather than a gap, is displayed after input). Do experienced users of Dorico make extensive use of Force Duration? Indeed, is there a disadvantage to having it switched on throughout?

(I do have a supplementary question related to the above, which I’ll just sneak in here - I wanted to delete a whole bar, and noticed that selecting it also selected the (mid-system) clef immediately preceding it, but if I moved the clef leftwards (I used the mouse before reading the help page regarding the keyboard way) then the clef wasn’t included in the selection. Is this purely because of how near or far it is to the barline?)

Hi Gareth, in the unlikely event that you haven’t yet played around with inputting a bunch of randomly-pitched crotchets and quavers and then changed the time signature at the start to any random one you can think of, and watched Dorico automatically re-notate and re-beam the notes to match the current meter, I’d recommend giving that a go for a few minutes to see the main benefit to not using Force Duration!