FR: Controlling the number of hyphens

Sometimes I don’t like how Dorico calculates hyphens between syllables over long melismas. I frequently make use of “Gap between hyphens,” but a setting that works for one spot might not work for another. I’d like to be able to control hyphens in each location independently. For example, here:

I would like to adjust the distance between hyphens here so there are two (or so that the hyphens are situated equidistant within the space between the two syllables).

At present, I have to move hyphens manually and drag unwanted ones off the page, which is not ideal.

3 Likes

We could potentially, in future, allow the distance between hyphens engraving option to be overridden via properties.

8 Likes

This would be a perfect solution IMO. Thanks for considering.

3 Likes

Related question. I’m not very good at lyrics but according to Gould.
(see below) this is something I have to edit manually in Engrave mode, correct?
Is it important or could I just let the hyphens span the rest measures?

Jesper

I’d say, yes: just carry on. I wasn’t aware of that requirement in Gould, and I don’t think I’ve ever seen it: I’ve always assumed that hyphens would just continue, as it’s a clear indication that there’s more to come.

Though one would hope that long periods of rests between syllables of a word is a rare compositional ‘effect’…

Thanks Ben, I have a few of these in a piece I’m trying to clean up. Not my own music, but trying to be as correct as possible. Maybe I just stick to Dorico’s default then. Still would be a usefull option to have in Engraving rules.

Jesper

If it’s just a short rest, I definitely wouldn’t mess about with it.

No, it’s one or two bars in a few places. On the short rests I already use the Dorico default like in your example.

Jesper

Edit: and thanks, Ben. Good to hear from an expert.

Here’s an example from the piece:

Jesper