[FR] Pause while recording

I often record long voice-overs where the talent or director stop to sort something out. If I’ve already started a recording (which takes the track name + #), then I must stop and wait. This writes a file that is useless (“take_05” for instance). Now I must tell everyone to ignore take 5. Not everyone gets the message however if there’s several people involved.

Wouldn’t it be great to be able to “pause” until everybody is ready to go, then resume writing “take_05”? When my session includes over a hundred takes (one for each line of dialog, for instance), then the busted takes piles up.

I’ve worked on other DAW software that will pause, so, not being a programmer myself, this seems like it would be feasible to do.

You can change the settings in the Preferences > Transport. There is Return to Start Position on Stop. If this is un-check, the Stop button works, like Pause. So you can stop the recordign, cursor stays on the same place, and you can continue.

Is this the way for you?

Thanks Martin, but it doesn’t quite work like I’m requesting. When you hit “stop” it stops the recording. Hitting “stop” again just plays empty space without restarting the recording. BTW, I have the box un-checked.

I know what you mean.

Probably not what you want to hear, but have you considered finding a workaround? Perhaps what you could do is find a way to program a macro to help you. Something like

Record = starts recording and sets an “in point”
Pause = stop record
Continue = starts recording, sets no “in point”
Stop =

1. stop record
  2. sets “out point”
  3. creates a range
  4. bounces the events over that range

At least then you’d have continuous files of each take. I suppose you’d then have to figure out a way to program the naming of the files though.