From Dorico Pro 3.5 To Affinity Publisher Tips Needed

Hello dear colleagues, especially those of you who are an Engraving gurus,
I’m new to Affinity Publisher.
Here is my case:

• I already finished the scoring and lyrics work in Dorico, for a musical theater…
    Now the author of text asked to add some more text, which will be spoken without music in the background. He would like to have the whole text and music in the very same document in order to
    present it to operas and musical theaters.
  • In order to preserve the Conductor Score (which already has 93 pages) untouched I’m thinking of using Affinity Publisher, where I could insert additional pages for the text (without background music).
  • The easiest way would be to export a “Normal” A4 PDF out of Dorico and to import it into Affinity Publisher, and then just to add pages where I need them. After that to export a Booklet A3 Landscape PDF for printing. The problem here is Affinity Publisher doesn’t create Master Page for imported PDF files.

What will be the best, and fastest, way to complete my task in Affinity Publisher?

Any help will be appreciated! Thank you very much in advance! :slight_smile:

By the way, after watching many tutorials on YouTube… It would be great if someone who has enough good experience with both Dorico and Affinity Publisher create tutorials.

Best wishes,
Thurisaz

1 Like

I don’t quite understand what you mean by “Affinity Publisher doesn’t create Master Page for imported PDF files”. Do you mean that there are elements from the PDF that you want to add to Master pages in Publisher?

You can do that, but you’d need to import the PDF not as “Passthrough”, but as editable content. Then you can select headers, etc, and paste them into your Master pages. However, I’d then delete the PDF and re-import as Passthrough only.

You could just create some text pages in AP, save as PDF, then combine the PDFs together.