From the Whiner Who Is New to Cubase ;) a little love

Hey. I’ve been complaining about some stuff here as I journey to learning Cubase. (Perspective: I’m a professional and value my time more than anything. Not that I’m special, but a speedy workflow is the difference between making a deadline and not. Also mental health :wink: So I’m learning Cubase now in a downtime.)

Anyway – I want to thank everyone for their patient and useful replies to my grouchy comments! Super helpful and very kind of you all!

BTW, here are some things I have discovered in the last 2 days that are awesome with Cubase:

1. Zoom by scrolling in several places. Intuitive and fast!
  2. Ease of manipulating MIDI.
  3. Being able to resize the width of Channels in the Mixer window! For a longtime Logic user, this ability is a giddy thrill! No, I am not exaggerating!
  4. COLOR COLOR COLOR! You have to use a third party app in Logic to get the good colors and it’s a wee bit clunky. Being able to change all the colors to fit my tiny brain is awesome in Cubase!
  5. Custom Key Commands. You can utterly change the default key commands, which you cannot do in Logic completely. Another giddy thrill!
  6. Chord track. I know music theory and do not need to generate chords, but when I found I could generate a chord chart off a MIDI track, I realized how useful that is. I just learned it minutes ago, so I’ve yet to expand on it, but I can see down the road how it would speed things up. The manual says: “Cubase Pro only: You can now open the Chord Assistant to create variations.” BUT IT DOESN’T TELL ME WHERE THE HELL THE CHORD ASSISTANT IS! Sorry… I am who I am :wink:
  7. More stable than Logic. So far, it’s more stable than Logic on my Mac. I actually have a browser open at the same time, which always makes Logic fractious.

This is only after 2 days, so I am sure I’ll discover more. Just wanted you all to know that appreciate the cool stuff in Cubase and am not just here grumble!

3 Likes