Generic Remote strangeness question

So I’ve been working on getting a template going for a Behringer BCR2000:

I set up the BCR to send the exact same info using different presets, except for midi channel.

Then I went into the generic remote setup and mapped the incoming midi messages (midi learn) to specific plugins in the vst mixer. Obviously this requires the plugins to live in the exact same slot which I’m willing to live with for now.

The goal here is to be able to simply switch preset on the BCR only and then get control over a specific plugin in Nuendo (living, as I said, in a specific insert slot).

Strangeness:

While setting up, Nuendo (5.5) allows me to program as many incoming midi messages as I like in the “upper table” - it then allows me to set up as many “links” between them and desired actions in the “lower table”. At this point everything actually works exactly as I want.

BUT, once I export this setup using the export button, and then re-import the exact same settings, some of the controls from the lower section have disappeared!!!

WUT?

I was extremely happy about the behavior and flexibility of Nuendo for exactly 24 hours, bragging about how I could buy a cheap generic controller and get exactly the mapping I wanted to inserted plug-ins - a very cool feature… Now, not so happy… :imp:

Anyone?

EDIT: Just to clarify - when setting up input/output functions exactly as desired. It’s after having saved / re-started / re-imported the settings that mappings have been f-ed up.

EDIT 2: I’m only using one generic remote controller.

EDIT 3: Nuendo clearly fucks up saving the xml file. I just checked. It reassigned controls from insert #2 to #4 without me telling it to.

Btw; I’ll take the opportunity to rant about two issues here:

1. How poorly the manual is since it doesn’t clearly and simply explain the workings of this feature set.