Getting Rid of Alto/Tenor Sax Vibrato in Dorico Pro 5

Is there a way to shut off, or at least rein in, the vibrato on the alto and tenor saxes in Dorico Pro 5? I’m trying to arrange a Bruckner symphony movement, and instead of an orchestral sound, HALion Sonic SE is giving me something more akin to the sound of Guy Lombardo and his Royal Canadians playing “Auld Lang Syne” on New Year’s Eve. I’m still relatively new to Dorico Pro, so I don’t know where to look, and a forum search only turned up a solution for flute vibrato. Please help, and thanks!

2 Likes

Which exact sample instruments are you using?

Ultimately, it will depend whether the sample has a vibrato control. For example, “Bright Tenor Sax NoteExp” uses the Mod Wheel to adjust the vibrato speed, though even at zero, there is still some vib.

If you can’t find one in HALion, then you’ll need to find another sample library that has the sounds that you want.

BTW, are you using HALion Sonic 7?

You can swap out the default saxes with non-vibrato versions, for example, “Alto Straight Dynamic Full” and “Tenor Straight Dynamic Full.”

1. Enter Play mode.
  2. Where you see the list of your players, select the Alto Sax.
  3. On the left side of the screen, select Track Inspector.
  4. Under Halion, click on the stylized e for edit.
  5. The HALion window opens. On the left side Slot Rack, find the slot that says Bright Alto Sax NoteExp. Select that slot.
  6. Now, you are going to replace that instrument. At the top of the screen, on the left, click Bright Alto Sax NoteExp and that will bring up the Load Program dialog. Type “sax” in the search area and that will bring up a list of programs. Double-click Alto Straight Dynamic Full and that will load the program.
  7. Presto–no vibrato!

You can do the same with your Tenor Sax.

Also, if you would like to avoid all of this and have a quick, works-out-of-the-box, quite good, and cost-conscious solution, please take a look at NotePerformer.