Getting started....PLEASE HELP!

Hello, I am new to the technical world of recording. I used to use Audacity but wanted better quality so I recently purchased Cubase Artist 7. It’s very complicated and overwhelming. All I am wanting to do is upload a pre-recorded musical track and lay down my vocals, add effects to the vocals etc. Can someone please explaine a simple way to do this? It would really be appreciated!!!

Hello, Quincy!

Your best friend for basics is going to be YouTube. Searching for “cubase recording tutorial” will give you several hits. Like,

It’s worth watching the videos for previous versions of Cubase, although the interface will look different.

Your question is very broad and difficult to put into words – books have been written on the topic! :wink: Maybe dive into the videos and see how it goes. You’ll probably have more specific questions coming out of that. And then we can provide more focused answers.

Good luck!

Ok thanks you, I will check it out. I have looked at a lot of videos on youtube already but they all seem to be so complicated. This is the basics of what I want to do. I am only a vocalist, I normally record cover songs. When I used audacity I imported the muscic track and then was able to record my vocals and background vocals to the track. I caint even figure out how to get the music uploaded onto Cubase. I think I may be out of my league with this one. Do I need an amp in order to record?

File/Import/Audio… navigate, select and import your files. Done. That should get you started but there is much more. Be sure to set up your audio card correctly eg.

You might want to investigate the tempos and such. Cubase is capable of creating “Tempo Maps” if necessary, for which you will easily find a youtube lesson.

Good luck.

sigh…looks like I am out of my league here, I don’t even know what an audio card is!

Do I need an audio interface?