Getting started with control surfaces (N00B thread)

Hi guys, I’m new to cubase and control surfaces (but have prior, early-gen MIDI experience). So I’m using cubase to run midi sequences to external hardware, and I have several control surface options that I want to start using. But I’m having trouble getting started.

Can someone point me to the best docs/videos/etc. to match my initial “use cases”?

The first one: My main sound module is a Yamaha Motif Rack XS. A very tedious task with doing cover tunes is matching up the best patch for the parts. What I want to do is have a “setup” profile on one of my control stations so I can turn a knob and have it send a program change on the set MIDI channel, which cubase will then forward on the proper midi channel to the Motif.

I have several choices of control surfaces to choose from right now:
-Novation Launch Control XL (8 ‘tracks’, each with 3 pots, a slider, and 2 buttons)
-M Audio Axiom 61 (9 sliders, 8 knobs)
-Steinberg CMC-FD (got it free with Cubase, but doesn’t have a lot; just 4 soft sliders, a shift button, and 4 channel/bank buttons).
(I also have a keyboard version Motif XS-6 out in the “studio”, but I plan on leaving that out there and doing all the up-front programming in my home office).

SO, I’m thinking the Launch Control would be best for this job. Can someone tell me if what I want to do is feasible? Maybe set up 16 of the pots to correspond to 16 midi channels to send out to the motif so I can scroll through patches while the sequence is running? Another question is around possibly using the control station to change the MSBlLSB (bank select) on the motif. Unfortunately, I have to use match to match the bank select (MSB*128+LSB) in order to set the bank in the cubase track (e.g. my Drum Voice Preset Bankis 8096). I don’t know if there would be any feasible way to set up something to switch between the 16 different banks on the Motif, in which some are in a consecutive range, but others are not.