Grace notes and ties affecting condensing

Hello, I’m new to Dorico after using another program for several years. The condensing feature finally persuaded me to give Dorico a try, but I’ve run into a problem trying to condense two flutes onto one stave a 2.

If I use default condensing they appear on one stave but double-stemmed, rather than one line marked a 2. I know both instruments have exactly the same music because I copied and pasted it from one to the other, so in theory there should be no reason it can’t all be condensed fully. In the second flow I copied and pasted the same music again and applied a condensing change, manually condensing both flutes into the same up-stem voice – now there is only one stem, as it should be, but any note that was tied to a previous note that has grace notes attached is now labelled only 1., with the following note returning to a 2. I assume this is why it doesn’t condense fully by default? I know I could hide the player labels in engrave mode, but that doesn’t solve the root of the problem.

(It doesn’t happen in bar 7 because I used a slur rather than a tie – I’ve since learned how to make trills and dynamics during tied notes, don’t worry!)

Does anyone have any ideas as to why this is happening? Is this a known bug? Is the answer really obvious and I’m just being thick? (probably)

A project is attached below. Thank you!

why won’t these flutes condense properly.dorico (404.2 KB)

Welcome to the forum, @lucianowilliamson. I’ve taken a bit of a look at this tonight but I need to confer with my colleague Andrew tomorrow about it. I’ll come back to you once I’ve done so.

1 Like