Graphics Cards

Hi,

Can anyone recommend a reasonable graphics card for use with Cubase 8 Pro ?

I was thinking the Nvidia GTX 750 ti - would this be any good?

I’m not sure…does that support two monitors?

I’m also unsure if this upgrade will require a PSU upgrade. I currently have a 650w

I tried some on-line usage calculators but they seem to give very different results, which is unhelpful.

Any help or suggestions appreciated :slight_smile:

I’ve been using a AMD Radeon HD 6450 for about 12 months now on my latest PC build. It has no fan so it’s quite. It has VGA, DVi and HDMI outputs which all work fine, the graphics are good and it works sweet with Cubase.

Recommended!

Regrds

A top-end graphics card is pointless with Cubase - it’s not a graphics intensive application - powerful cards usually require big noisy fans which don’t do DAW users any favours - any DX9 or better graphics card with enough memory to support the number of monitors at the resolution you want to use will do the job.

The only time I’d say a graphics card is a must at all if you’re a 32 bit user that wants to free up the shared memory used by onboard graphics or you require more monitors than the onboard one supports.

Agree with that. I’d say a noisy high end graphic card is irrelevant if you’re not a gamer.

That IS the card that I was using. However, I ran into major problems after installing Cubase 8 Pro in relation to performance and performance load.

These are problems I simply do not get in Cubase 7.5 (7.5.30 or 7.5.40)

Nothing else changed in my system other than my upgrading to 8 Pro. And no matter what settings I tried with buffer size, latency and AsioGuard, performance was dreadful.

This was improved a little when I switched from the HD 6450 to my on-board Intel HD4600 (it transpired that the HD4600 easily outperforms the 6450).

I was surprised to see that the performance load in these projects had improved - slightly but enough to notice.