Groupchannels supersede FX-channels?

Is this pretty much it - FX channels are there for historic reasons, or?

You can only route FX channels to hardware output bus.

Tracks can route sends to FX and Group channels.

Looking in comparison chart I see “FX send channels” which does not exist in manual.
They are only 8 on all Cubase versions.

Channels are also often used as a term for buss or track.
In other daws channels or most often the internals for routing of tracks - a stereo track has two channels.

What is meant by 8 FX send channels?

Then comparison chart says FX return channels are 64 for Cubase, but 8 for Elements.
Searching for “return channel” there is one entry in manual stating that FX channels is basically a return channel seen in mixing console.

The comparison chart “FX return channels” is that the number of those fx busses you can create in FX folder?

Apples are never called apples in Cubase, it’s always orange or kiwi or something else.
I’m studying like crazy to see whether to go all in on Cubase in this campaign running now.

And I ask myself - can I live with these odd non-intuitive naming of what is to be my main tool working all days?
Serious doubts, I tell you.
It’s like programmers are naming everything, not from a musicians point of view.

Thanks for any input on this.

Is this pretty much it - FX channels are there for historic reasons, or?

If you are asking if they fullfil any role that groups can’t also cover, then no, they don’t.

What is meant by 8 FX send channels?

On an audio/instrument track/channel there are 8 sends. If you were to need more than 8 you would have to route to a group which of course would have a further 8.

The comparison chart “FX return channels” is that the number of those fx busses you can create in FX folder?

It is the max number of FX channels you can add to Cubase…Stereo or Mono makes no odds. 64 is max.