guitar only playing back on right side?

I have a Steinberg UR22 and Cubase Elements. Win 8.1 Pro.
Total newbie to Cubase and home recording so please bear with me.

I plug my acoustic guitar into channel 2 on the UR22 and record in Cubase, in what sounds like stereo in my headphones, but when I play it back it only comes out the right channel?

Have I got a pan setting wrong here or something? Am I recording in stereo?
Should I be recording in mono to two tracks and then panning one left and one right?
Will I need to use two tracks every time I want to record a guitar part?

Would appreciate some guidance.
Thank you.
NJ

EDIT:
So, all of the above was happening when I used the “Empty” project option upon initial opening of Cubase. So, I tried selecting the “Piano and Vocal” template, recorded the guitar on the vocal track and, hey presto, it plays back in Stereo. This has just confused me even more.

Can’t I just select Project > Add Track > Audio in an empty template and have it record properly or is the default, somehow, mono (right side)?

What am I doing wrong and what am I misunderstanding?
Thank you
NJ

Have I got a pan setting wrong here or something?

Something

Am I recording in stereo?

You are recording a stereo track but only recording a mono source so in this case…one side of the stereo.

Should I be recording in mono to two tracks and then panning one left and one right?

You can record to a mono track and then pan it anywhere you like.

recorded the guitar on the vocal track and, hey presto, it plays back in Stereo. This has just confused me even more

The vocal track is intended for a single mic and therefore is mono…it plays in mono but out of both speakers…not quite the same thing as stereo.

Can’t I just select Project > Add Track > Audio in an empty template and have it record properly

Yes you can…create a mono track not a stereo one.

Hey Grim. Sorry, but I’m no further forward.