Hardware Problem#2

Hi Guys,

I’m new to Cubase Pro 8 and this is my second post. So far, I’ve seen a number of Steinberg videos on YouTube, and I fairly know how to use Cubase (just plug and play), but my only problems seems to be hardware (connecting and getting sound). Cubase Pro 8 isn’t that difficult, honestly.

#1) I replied to a nice person from my first post, but I’ll include it in here to get some other opinions. Since my digital piano has no MIDI OUT/IN, it has a USB instead but it still functions as a MIDI keyboard according to the manual (Williams Legato 88-key). I connect it, the PC picks it, so does Cubase. I know how to link the digital piano to the tracks on Cubase, simple as sin. But no sound comes out. For example, let’s say that I select “instrument track” and I set up a VST/MIDI grand piano from Helion. When I go to play my digital piano, Cubase doesn’t pick up my piano, but instead I can still play my piano as if it wasn’t connected to the PC and the sounds still comes from its speakers, so no sound from it is transmitting to Cubase at all!

2#) When I plug in the UR22 while using Cubase, I obviously plug in my headphones as well using a 1/4 inch connector with the headphones. However, I noticed that when I was playing around Groove Agent, I heard the sound coming from my pc and not from my headphones. Yet when I hear music from YouTube or from any other player, I can hear it from my headphones and not from the computer speakers. I am just really confused. I really need help connecting the audio in place.

If you can please be specific and point me in the right direction, I’ll be so happy. I just want to start recording my songs already!

Hi,

I don’t think it’s necessary to start a 2nd topic since they’re related, but it’s ok, let’s continue here.