Have never gotten repeats to work

I’ve been using Dorico 4 for several months now and have never gotten a repeat to work. Never. I’m not doing anything fancy, other than telling Dorico to repeat a contiguous range of measures n times in the lower-panel inspector box.
I even made up a little test file that consist primarily of a single repeated section. Still does not repeat. Screenshot attached.
I haven’t found anything on-point in the operations manual, but I feel like I must be missing something obvious. Is there some special way to enable repeats or play a score with repeats?

Check Library > Playback Options > Repeats > Play repeats

Thanks, Dan – that worked!
I’m not surprised that there was some setting causing my problem, but I would never have expected that such a common scoring function would be disabled by default. Or that the requirement wouldn’t be mentioned in the Operations manual in the section that describes how to create a repeat.
Anyway, thank you again for the quick response. The people on this forum are the best!

That option isn’t disabled by default, but it will be disabled automatically by Dorico when opening your project, if you have created an invalid repeat structure that will repeat infinitely.

1 Like

(And it won’t automatically turn the option back on if hours/weeks/months later you fix the repeat structure.)

1 Like

Holy cow!!
Yes, when I first installed Dorico, I was playing around with things like repeats to learn how the various palette options worked and in so doing, may have momentarily created an invalid repeat structure. That’s all it took to permanently disable all repeat functions? I need to digest that.

It’ll have disabled playback of repeats within that project.

Curious.