Having only one plugin open? (crashes with 2 plugins open )

I am really enjoying Cubase 11 and it is totally solid other than it crashes nearly every time I have 2 plugins open at once.

I’m a long term Pro Tools user and if you open a plugin it closes any others so you only have one open unless you press the shift key.

I mostly remember to close a plugin before I open another but also forget often enough to have lost hours of work so far.

Is there a preference to only have one plugin open at a time?

hi Ted

(are you the TornadoTed from Wales ? - if so then hi :+1:)

the quick answer is ‘no’ ! unfortunately, the long answer is ‘no’ too but it does seem a reasonable feature request. The channel edit window does this by default - but not the plugin window.

I don’t think the crash you are having is necessarily related to this…if you provide more details we could see if we can pin that down to something specific…I’ve never had this issue…

Wow - I’ve never had the problem of Cubase crashing just because multiple plugin windows are open. So something very odd is happening for you, which may deserve chasing down and fixing, because that must be very frustrating.

To the best of my knowledge, there’s no Cubase preference for only keeping one plugin window open.

As a temporary and partial workaround for VST Instruments, you may be able to create a key command macro, containing two steps:

Close All Plug-in Windows
Edit VST Instrument

Which would make it a single keystroke effort to edit the currently selected instrument plugin after closing all other plugin windows.

Unfortunately I can’t think of a similar trick for audio insert plugins.

TornadoTed from Wales says hi back :grinning:

I think my problem may be that I am stuck on High Sierra and that isn’t a supported OS. My graphics card isn’t supported with anything past High Sierra, I did try a supported graphics card but I found the fan noise unacceptable so I went back to my old passive graphics card.

1 Like