Headphone Mix Question

I am new to CuBase, so please bear with me.

I am trying to determine how to set up a channel for a headphone mix. This would be a channel that i would use to send a mix to a singer, when laying down a vocal.

I read the manual and watched some videos but I foudn them very confusing.

Can someone help me do this?

Thank-you so much!

It depends on what level of Cubase you have. Cubase Pro calls them cue channels. I see you are looking at Cubase LE/AI.

First, you need hardware – some sort of audio interface or sound card for the headphones to plug in to. Then it needs a driver (which is generally written by the hardware maker). (A driver is software that interprets the operating system for the hardware and vice versa.) Therefore, the operating system can make the hardware available to apps like Cubase. Under menu item “Devices > Device Setup” there’s “VST audio system”. This is where you connect to the driver. There’s ASIO4ALL, which is a generic fallback driver, which you should only use if you have to. There’s a sub item under VST audio system that’s driver specific. Going in there, you can see what’s active. looks like this and this.

Now under Devices > VST Connections there should be a tab for output, which will have a bus for stereo out, and that should be connected to your audio device (= hardware) and output ports, which will be named as they were named under VST audio system. Looks like this

You probably have all this set up correctly if you are hearing any sound out of Cubase. If your hardware has only one output for headphones, then you wouldn’t be asking this question, so there are at least 2 stereo outputs. All you need do at this screen is to add an output bus. Give it a name like “cue mix” and assign the device ports for that second stereo output. The manual is pretty lucid about the details, but there are some important issues that need attention.