Help! First time recording with Yamaha THR10 and Cubase AI6

Hi everybody!

I got my Yamaha THR 10 amp a couple of months ago but have only now installed and registered Cubase AI 6 that was bundled with the THR10. I’d really like to record some songs with Cubase AI but my first attempt failed miserably (see, I’m a complete newbie at this). I was following the Quick Guide in the Cubase documentation up to pressing “record”. But all I see is a flat line when the sofware is supposed to be recording. So there is nothing recorded and the playback is silent. I was under the impression I could easily “plug-and-record” with the THR connected to Cubase AI, so I’m really wondering what I’m doing wrong here. Any ideas? Obviously, this is worrying me quite a bit now since I was really looking forward to my first try at recording. So you guys are my only hope.

If possible, could anyone give me a step by step primer especially for recording with the Yamaha THR? The Operation Manual is a bit too much for me at the moment and not of much use for this newbie. I just want to get to the point where I can record an actual audio track. Thanks, guys!

Ok, so I’ve made some progress and have more or less solved the recording issue. I googled and found this video on Youtube: Yamaha THR - Cubase AI quick setup guide - YouTube

Although I’m running Cubase AI6 on a Windows 7 machine, not a Mac, and there are some differences, following the instructions did the trick for me.

A couple of questions I still have:

1. In the video it’s possible to select THR10 under “Devices” → “Setup Device”, while in my case only “Yamaha Steinberg USB” shows as the other option to select. I’m assuming that this is the equivalent. (Ok, I realize this is not a question, just a discovery I made.)