Help please: Master Fader for fade-outs?

So I saw this on the Reddit r/AudioEngineering subreddit and was wondering if someone could explain how this would apply in Cubase 10, please:

PSA: Don’t Use your Master Fader for fade outs

I feel like a lot of people don’t realize this, but the volume on the master fader is PRE inserts, (at least in Pro Tools). So when you do a volume fade on the master fader, it gets less and less compressed and the sound changes as you fade. If you want a fade that keeps the master effects in tact, insert a gain plugin last and automate that.

On the upside of this functionality, if your mix is clipping the master plugins too much, all you have to do is turn the fader down a bit. Just remember the volume is PRE inserts and affects how your master bus plugins react.

Not a huge difference in sound, but I feel like it’s a misunderstood feature that’s kind of important.

So I’m still kind of new to Cubase so if someone could explain how to best do this in Cubase I would appreciate it greatly.

Thanks!

And I guess another important question would be ‘how to automate it?’ Would you create a ‘Submix’ ahead of the main Stereo Out and automate the volume in that?

A new point in the discussion: fade-out should be reserved for mastering. Seems to make sense. Anyone care to add to that?

Cubase has both pre and post fader insert slots.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but this is the assumption that you actually have inserts on the master fader. The way I work is to have sub-groups/sub masters all before the master fader, therefore nothing on it.

I haven’t done a song with a fade in a long time, but yes, that is normally the ME’s job with specific instructions from the client.

Yes, I typically only put Mastercheck and Sonarworks on my Master, and use sub-groups for everything else. Was just wondering if I was missing something here. Thanks guys.