Help with VST Instrument recording Midi Data/Sound

Hello everyone,

I’m a home recording newbie and recently purchased Cubase Pro 8, Audient id22 interface, and a new PC.
I need very specific help regarding VST Instruments/Midi.

My immediate goal is to record one basic, single-notes track as a guide for singing a melody in key.
I want to do this using an included VST Instrument like HalionSonic SE.

My first newbie question: Is a midi keyboard controller required in order to record midi data/sound using VST instrument like HalionSonic SE?

I ask this because I’m able to access HalionSonic SE and produce sound through my headphones by simply clicking on the virtual keys of the onscreen virtual keyboard, but attempts to record don’t record any data or sound.

The following basic tutorial hasn’t helped me resolve the issue:

Toward the end of the video, there is basic instruction regarding how to access the HalionSonic SE VST instrument and record a performance using a midi keyboard controller was evidently used for the recorded performance. Specific Device Setup or VST connections settings aren’t explained in the video… the “keyboard player” just begins recording his part. I followed the steps, but I can’t seem to record midi data (or sound, for that matter) using the VST Instrument track or Midi track.

If it IS possible to record midi data/sound using HalionSonic SE without a midi controller/keyboard, please explain settings which may be required.

Searching Google for help led me to this information from Sweetwater, which is directed toward Mac users, and I’m wondering if these instructions may be also pertinent to PC users like myself.

How do I record VST Instruments as Audio into Cubase VST on the Mac?

1.Create the VST Instrument

2.Set the output of a Midi track to the VST Instrument

3.Program its part with the Midi Track.

4.Now if other tracks are present , mute them.(Or solo the Midi VST Instrument Track)