Here goes - first attempt - jazzy bobbing song

So this is my first project completed in Cubase, I’m a novice and I’ll appreciate any comments. Especially my mixing and volumes, I’ve put so many hours into this piece and really need some advice. Please tell me what you think. I recorded this in my home studio using me new Yamaha S90XS.

Thanks

Michael

I’m assuming this is you playing all of the instruments? As a first Cubase project is an admirable endeavor to try an uptempo jazz trio. To make this work you have to speak the language of a seasoned bassist and drummer. It might be good to state the theme less and make the overall song shorter. That way you wouldnt stretch yourself thin on reproducing swing bass like here around the 2:10 mark. also think about getting the NI free Kontakt player that comes with 500 mb of sounds. May be a more convincing acoustic bass there. Keep it up

impressive first effort, I reckon Mr M’s comments are on the money also piano sounds weak…thin…bit of body there would be an improvement from my point of view…Kevin

Hi

Congratulation!

If this is all you, who plays the instruments as well the drums, very good.

I just got the impression, that there should be some more “surprises” in between.
Actionally, I don’t know the orignal song, but after two minutes with the same setup, I expect some slight changes :wink:

Overall - very good!

Cheers

Mr. M - Thank you for you comments. Yes, I don’t know anything about playing bass or drums, I only use the samples on my Yamaha. I respect the opinion of a seasoned jazz artist.

Kevin - Thank you, I thought the piano is a little weak, will turn it up. Thank you for listening and helping me.