Hey Sally & Kings Shilling

Hi all,

I have been using Cubase for a few years now, starting with LE4 and graduating up to 7.5.2 and I love it!

The VST connect has allowed me to get together with our old band vocalist (who lives over 50 miles from me) and our old drummer (180 miles from where I live) and we have started making music again after a 40 year gap!!

These are 2 new songs we have written and recorded in my “mancave” studio and, even if we do say so ourselves, we are all pretty happy with the result!

Everything on the track is Cubase (effects & plug ins etc) & Halion Sonic, all recorded through the CI1 usb interface so many thanks and hats off to Steinberg, Cubase and Halion Sonic!!

Hi, good effort with Hey Sally!!..bit of a “maggie May” feel about the song but reckon it’s effect is reduced by quite a lot of timing issues, would be worth putting them right,

Kings Shilling is a good song about an unusual subject so well done there, the drums seemed to be coming from about 11o’clock left on my system, maybe that was intentional…dunno but well done. :slight_smile:

Kevin

Hi Kevin,

Thanks for the critique , and you are right, there are some timing issues with Hey Sally that I’m not quite skilled enough (yet!!) to clean up!

I guess that’s the problem with multi-tracking everything myself (except the drums) but I’m pretty confident I will be able to improve the timing issues by just focusing more on that section of my mixing.

I will have a crack at tempo detection & set definition from tempo over the next few days and let you know how I get on, unless their is another route I could take to clean up the timing?

Regards the drums on Kings Shilling, I normally just listen for a “gap” that will fit whatever part I am recording and place the sound there. I also record all audio in mono but maybe I should be doing some (like the drums) in stereo?

Anyway thanks again for taking the time to both listen and to write a post,

Jim B