Hi, I'm new to computer recording.

I recently bought a Digitech effects pedal for my guitar. It came with Cubase 5 LE. I finally got around to hooking up the software and am really enjoying recording tracks onto my computer.
I’d like to expand little by little(this whole technology is completely new to me-most of the features on my software version are locked out, but that’s good because I have no idea what they are or mean.)
I guess my question is: what’s a good interface to upgrade to so that I can still run my guitar through and perhaps a synthesiser? I need to keep it basic still.
Thanks alot!

Hello,

I am using the CI1 audio interface with Cubase Essential 5. It is wicked easy and fun to record with. Any of the CI series were made with Cubase in mind, making them simple to hook up and all that. If you decided to go that route, you could hook up a guitar, but probably not a synth. Another one to look at may be the Tascam US-200 which would allow you to use both guitar and synth. However you must keep in mind that these are of course not the only interfaces out there, so a little Googling could really come in handy. You won’t go wrong with the CIs or the Tascam, cause these are some of the best simple hardware on the market. If you were hoping for like 16 inputs and outputs and expensive preamps, well, that’s a different story. :wink:

As far as a “synthesizer” goes, the easiest way to get started with that type of thing might be to get a cheap MIDI controller keyboard (no built in sounds) with a USB MIDI connection and use the HALionOne sounds included with LE5. Some good free VST instruments available to play around with, too. Check out the TAL stuff for example …

http://kunz.corrupt.ch/products

The selection of audio interfaces is almost limitless. Figure out what you need for in/outs. Do some research. Read some reviews. You can spend under a hundred or over a thousand.