Hiding notes and rest

Dear All,

I know this question is redneck, but I’ve been searching around, but I got no answer.

How could I individually hide notes and rests?

Thank you in advance,

I assume you’re wanting to hide the first quarter note in each bar. In that case, you want to preserve the space where the note should be, so I would select it and scale it down to 1%.

Alternatively, you could select the notes, use color properties and set alpha channel to 0 (transparent), and hide the stems in Engrave mode.

I’d do the former.

2 Likes

Thank you so much! Would you mind to help with the squares? How would you create them? I would like to add 10 same-size squares. Would it be possible?

Thank you again!

Someone else might have a better idea, but I would draw these as text frames in Engrave mode (assuming you have Pro), and enable the property for bordered frames.

Thank you, Dan! I’m a Pro user :wink:

I tried that one, but I cannot copy/paste the item. I have tried with the rehearsal marks, but there is no option to leave the square empty… I really this option to create my educational material. I hope someone else could me :slight_smile:

Thank you in advance,

You could alternatively use markers: input them where you want the boxes, make sure they’re set not to show a timecode, then fill each one with a bunch of spaces rather than letters (I’d possibly actually do this in the Video panel as you can see a full list of markers there, and change them one after the other, i.e. enter a lot of spaces in one, select all the spaces, copy, then paste into all the other markers). You might also want to increase the padding between text and the border in markers to make the boxes bigger (which is an engraving option).

Markers are fixed to a time position, rather than a rhythmic position, so be aware that if you change the tempo or do any similar time-altering actions, the markers might well move relative to the music.

1 Like