Hissing with amp rack, amp distortion, etc.

Hi,

I’m new to cubase and scoured the forum for an answer but didn’t see anything related to my problem. I’m running an eval copy of Cubase 8.0.35, Alesis Multimix8 USB, electric guitar in, high-z on, MacBook Pro with USB in using the only driver available. When I add any amp sim or amp rack model I get a constant background hiss. I can gate the hiss but as soon as I start to play it’s back, loud enough to hear, and especially noticeable on a clean setting. I’ve tried eq’ing the high end and high cut but it just muffles the guitar tone. Raising gain on the MultiMix increases hiss but I have been unable to figure out a setting where I get good guitar sound and no hiss. And no hiss if I don’t have an amp setup in Cubase so i don’t think the problem is in the Alesis mixer.

My primary interest is jamming on my guitar with Groove Agent so mixing out the hiss later isn’t an option. I’m also running out of my free trial time and if I don’t figure out how to eliminate or significantly reduce the hiss will probably have to bail on Cubase. Seems like a great product so I’m sure there is a solution!

Thanks,

Mike

Have you got guitar pedals to test out if your guitar is outputting this noise? (it would be fair to test the same kind of FX though)

If using distortion kind of FX it’s always a booster kind of effect and thus boosting the little noise/hiss there is automatically (happens with analog pedals to).

Noise is one of the great issues recording electric guitars. There are many different reasons for it.

Firstly you did not say what kind of guitar you use. If you use a single coil guitar noise is inevitable, but much of it can be avoided. If you play near your laptop you will get a certain amount of noise. You can try positioning your guitar in different places relative to the laptop to see if there is any change.