HORRIFIC performance of Dorico 3

Hi all,
I’m relatively new to Dorico, but I was impressed enough with Dorico Elements 2 that I also bought Dorico 3. There are so many things about this software that I like, but there is one major issue that makes it a non-starter for any serious work. I’ve contacted technical support about this and they sent me here (why even bother with a Tech Support link if this is where we’re always going to end up?). But on to the show-stopping bug. If anyone has ideas about how to address this I’m all ears, but if there’s no way to fix it I’m going to have to go back to Notion 6 (which has it’s own set of issues, but at least it works).

Dorico is completely unusable for very complex work. I have a choral/symphonic work that is about 320 measures long (16+ minutes running time). Now I’ll admit that’s a significant load to throw at any notation system, but other apps (Finale, and Notion 6) have no trouble working with this same score. It takes several seconds just to tie two notes together or add a gradual dynamic, every…single…time…I touch the score. Basically any modification of the score is an exercise in watching the Windows busy indicator. While the problem is less pronounced with smaller scores it’s still there just waiting to interrupt the creative flow without warning.

I have been referred to the article about optimizing a DAW workstation (the closest document they have to this kind of a situation) and have followed all the instructions to the letter and it has made NO difference in this behavior. I am running Windows 10 Pro on a Core i7 with 16GB of RAM and a high end video card. GIven what other software vendors have been able to accomplish there’s really no excuse for this. I created a video of it because it was so ridiculous, but apparently I can’t upload those here.

So what has your experience been? What’s the largest score you’ve thrown at Dorico 3 and how did it respond? Any tips on making it actually usable?