How 2 manually set hitpoints + make groove/tempo track?

Hi all,

now this is frustrating. I got a mastering project from my friend cause he was in studio and now he asked me to do cellos and violins + bass guitar to that song. Well, the problem is that he didn’t play the song in the studio with a metronome!! And now it’s nearly impossible to make “groove” (whatever that is…) or tempo track so that it would be easy to do the MIDI notes for orchestration. THIS SUCKS!

So, I have tried the hit-points detection. Doesn’t work ===> detects only some very arbitrary and off-beat positions.

I have tried tempo-detection. Doesn’t work either - the same reason than above.

So I thought that I would just hit play and add ALL the hitpoints manually. It will only take 5 mins so that’s no problem. And then I would make a groove or tempo track or whatever based on those manually inserted hitpoints.

But the big question is: HOW DO I DO IT WITH CUBASE 6??? Inserting the markers is easy by hitting “insert” key, but how can I make a groove out of those? Or is there a way to insert hitpoints manually?

PLEASE HELP !!! I have good relations to the upstairs guy so I’ll send you angels. I really hope that someone could help - with a REAL solution. I’m not willing to adjust every single hitpoint with a mouse.

Thanks,

-Tommy-

Watch the Warp videos, here;

“Merge tempo from tapping”

I’m sorry… can you be more specific?? I’ve heard about that but if you mean that I would have to make a CONSTANT tempo by tapping then that’s not a solution; the tempo VARIES between 123-147 and I want to have a DYNAMIC tempo track based on the markers or hitpoints that I can manually set and set them EASILY.

But if this is how it’s done then ok, but a constant tempo doesn’t solve anything. But where the hell can I find that function anyway? Please help. Thanks.