How Can I Easily Record a Drum Track?

Obviously I am new to Cubase (I have Cubase LE4) and I simply want to record drums that I have playing on my computer onto a track on my Cubase project.

I have GrooveBox and would love to record in Cubase LE one of the grooves that comes with it. But it has proven to be beyond me. I tried reading through the help, but to no avail. I tried creating it on a MIDI track, an Audio track and an Instrument track too, none worked.

I created a new bus (hitting F4 while in Cubase) and that didn’t work.

The closest I came was when I exported the groove as a midi file and then imported it into Cubase. It kinda worked, but when I played it back it was all messed up, like jumbled. Why is this? I did the same with a .wav file and that didn’t work either.

Please help!

Reading the getting started portion of the manual re: setting up audio and MIDI would go a long way. You don’t say what exactly Groove Box is as far as program hardware, VSTi etc. so it’s hard to help you.

Thanks for responding. I did go over that again but couldn’t find a solution.

Basically, Groovebox is a little applications that I downloaded that plays various drum beats using drum sets. It can play jazz beats, or rock or funk beats and rhythms, etc. In other words, it’s a fancy metronome that plays more than just the down beat. It is by Red Devil.

Let say I buy some software online that makes drums beats. How do I get those drum beats to record on a track in Cubase LE4? I have my instrument hooked up and recording fine in Cubease, I just need to get the drum app’s beats to record on another track. It ain’t working when I try.