How do i adjust VSTi levels?

HI,
Newbie here, just wondering how i adjust individual recording levels for each instrument in my mix?

Hello and welcome.

The general explanation:

For each channel you have a Gain, which can be accessed e.g. in the Channel Settings:

1 Like

Thanks Johnny,
So itā€™s not the same as moving the fader levels?

No the faders are not the input gain. Depends on your audio interface as well as you usually set the input levels on the interface.

1 Like

First comes the gain on your interface. You tweak that to get an acceptable level. Avoid clipping there, it doesnā€™t sound good.

You see that level (whatā€™s coming from your interface to Cubase) on the input channelā€™s meter. You can then use pre-gain to have whatā€™s coming from your interface to the input channel either be boosted, or cut.

You can apply EQ, compression etc on the input channel and have the effect be directly recorded to the audio track that the input channel is connected to. (Of course you canā€™t go back and ā€œtake them offā€, because theyā€™re on the input channel)

You can use the fader of the input channel to adjust what levelā€™s are being fed to the Audio channel for recording. (Because, an EQ, a compressor, an effect, any proccessing, might have boosted or lowered the original levels coming in)

Depends on which channelā€™s fader you move. In the Mix Console you can see any Input channels that you have defined in ā€œAudio Connectionsā€ (F4).

Iā€™ll just set the display filter so that I see only the Input channelsā€¦
grafik

When I adjust the fader on an Input channel the resulting volume adjustment will get imprinted on the recording (non-reversibly).
grafik

The faders of any of these channel typesā€¦
grafik
ā€¦ will only affect the playback volume level.