How do I erase a pop/crack in my audio track

I have recorded a few tracks about 10 minutes long, and the guitar track has one electronic pop, in it which I suspect it was caused by the Roland BOSS ME 80 which was connected to Acoustic Electric guitar and connected up to my Steinberg UR44.

I am new to Cubase and have a book called Power Tools for Cubase 7 and have the Cubase Artist versions 7, 7.5 and 8 and have looked online to find out how I use something like a eraser tool and take out unwanted noise.

Here is the image of the track and the area I need to remove, right in the middle. I appreciate any tips or advise on how to do this, or where to look to learn how to do this.

Hi There

There are a couple of ways, One would be to zoom right in on the waveform in the Sample Editor and use a pencil to “Draw” the crackle outta there, tricky but it can work. Another way is to find a “similar” passage (even down to small sections less than 1sec long) and cut the offending crackle out and replace it with the similar version and crossfade the borders.

Best Regards

Dave

Aloha a,

@ Dave. +1

This too is my approach and it can be very effective.

Problem is if you don’t do this all the time, (and unless you get very lucky),
it can take some time and effort and patience to get it right.
(it’s not a science)

So
1-Make a couple of back-up tracks. (make sure the back-up files are really in the pool)
2-Take you time and try and think like an artist while drawing.
3-Try and ‘feel’ it.
4- Don’t get discouraged. This can and does work.

Good Luck!
{‘-’}

i had the same question (problem) a time ago.
If you could afford, buy Izotope RX4. In the spectral editor you can very comfortable get rid off crackles, Pops.
Really a good tool (i think in Us$ it’s about 300)

best regards
Flohre